A restaurant’s guide to social media

February 3, 2009

Trying new restaurants is one of my guilty pleasures. My restaurant search begins with a sweep on yelp. I create a connection with a restaurant based on its reviews. If I’m satisfied with a meal, the restaurant remains in my mind. But how do I stay personally connected with that restaurant?

yelp

The answer: social media. If companies and organizations can use social media to connect with their audience, why can’t restaurants? Social media is an inexpensive way to interact with existing or potential customers.

This idea seems so simple to me, however, after looking up some of my favorite restaurants I found they do not exist in the world of social media or if they do, it’s very minimal. For example, one of my favorite restaurants in Portland is Le Happy. The food is unique, tasty, and reasonably priced and the atmosphere is funky and fresh. Although Le Happy is off to a great start with their interactive Web site and can be found on yelp, they are nowhere to be found in the world of social media.

Le Happy

Think of all the things restaurants could do with social media. Being the amateur restaurant connoisseur that I am, I would use restaurant social media sites to check out specials, anniversary events, menu changes, hours, reservations, renovations, wine lists, and more. The possibilities are endless.

Here is a list of social media tools restaurants can use to connect with customers and create brand recognition.
A few examples from the list include:

  • Using Twitter to provide people with updates on specials and events. Twitter also allows customers to provide feedback and commentary about the restaurant, its food, and other aspects of the dining experience.
  • Creating a blog to inform people about the restaurant’s recent editions to the menu, new staff, cooking techniques, etc.
  • Starting a Facebook page to connect with existing and potential restaurant patrons.

I believe creating and maintaining a connection with people will contribute to the success of a restaurant. Don’t believe me? Check out some of the success stories I found on Social Media Explorer.

2 Responses to “A restaurant’s guide to social media”

  1. Gretchen, thanks for linking to the Social Media Explorer article. I think the potential for restaurants to add social media to their marketing strategy could pay huge benefits in connecting with their customers.

    Connected customers always raise the level of loyalty.

  2. […] HighlightA Restaurant’s Guide to Social Media from Gretchen Brandtjen SHARETHIS.addEntry({ title: "Social Linky Love", url: […]

Leave a Reply

