Graduating seniors anonymous

February 24, 2009

Hello, my name is Gretchen and I’m a graduating senior. I’m currently addicted to learning about: Job searching, interview preparation, interview tips and tricks, résumé tweaking, editing, and building, portfolio polishing, and personal branding.

Like many students who are about to enter the “real world,” I’ve become addicted to researching pertinent information about acquiring a job. To simplify, or maybe overwhelm students a little more, I thought I would share some resources I found about interviews, job searching, and personal branding.

Success

What’s the best way to answer unusual questions employers throw out during an interview?

I personally struggle with questions regarding my strengths and weaknesses. How do you answer a question without sounding arrogant or under qualified? Heather Huhman gives some great advice about mastering the responses to these tough questions.

  • For example, “What is your biggest weakness?” In the post, Chandlee Bryan suggests providing sincere information in areas that you could improve upon. Overall, make sure the weakness you provide isn’t an essential task of the job you’re interviewing for.

How do I master a phone interview?

Many of my friends have encountered the dreaded phone interview and most of them also had the same response once the interview was finished: “That sucked!” How do employers expect me to stand out over the phone? Barbara Nixon recently posted great advice about making the most of a phone interview.

Here are a few examples of her tips:

  • Know the details of the interview and be prepared at least 15 minutes ahead of time.
  • Prepare your interview area carefully. Sit at a clean desk and have a copy of your resume and information about the company in front of you.
  • Send a short, professional thank you e-mail to the interviewer immediately after the phone interview. Follow up the e-mail with a hand-written thank you note.

How do I start personal branding?

Erika Penner recently gave an informative presentation on personal branding for PR students searching for jobs.

Here are some tips on personal branding from her presentation:

  • Consider your strengths and what you want to project to potential employees.
  • Showcase your personal brand through a résumé, portfolio, and interview, which send an honest, consistent message to employers.
  • Make your résumé and portfolio consistent with the strength you highlight within your personal brand.
  • Be confident in yourself and enthusiastic about an interview opportunity.

Additional resources:

Best questions to ask during an interview

Setting Yourself Apart: A Job in PR is Possible

Until the next graduating seniors anonymous post, good luck!

3 Responses to “Graduating seniors anonymous”

  1. Thanks so much for linking to my post on phone interviews. You might also be interested in my post on resume writing: Resumes That Resonate ( http://zi.ma/79b4f8)

    Barbara

  2. oregometry said

    Your blog is a lot cooler than mine. Plus, I decided to make my background a mind-blowing green.

    And my blog has zero substance. I never know what to write about.

    Andrew Plambeck

  3. […] and align goals with achievements. This is that personal brand that my friend and classmate Gretchen has blogged […]

Leave a Reply

