Twitter: what’s the point?

February 24, 2009

by tony.gigov

Now that I’ve become somewhat familiar with Twitter, I often have people asking me, “What’s the point? Why should I use it? How does it benefit me?” Although I know why I like Twitter, I struggle to come up with a clear answer as to why other people should become involved with this microblogging site.

Why I enjoy Twitter

I like Twitter because it allows me to interact with people who share my interests. Twitter allows me to network with a variety of people who may influence me greatly. On Twitter, I’m able to join several conversations and make my voice heard. I also am able to share videos, stories, pictures, and more with people who may or may not be interested.

Why others should use Twitter

Paul Bradshaw recently asked his Twitter network “Why should student journalists use Twitter?”

Some of the responses included:

  • It’s fun
  • To create conversation and swap information
  • Job opportunities
  • It’s a fantastic way of interacting with a wide range of people
  • To pick up leads and story ideas easily
  • It’s a news source

Bradshaw also provides several presentations on the Online Journalism Blog about Twitter.

Here’s a fantastic presentation for Twitter newbies. His advice includes communicating with thousands of people at once. However, following thousands of people may be difficult if you don’t know who to follow. Here’s a link to the top 10 Twitter users that every journalism student should follow.

Need more tips about Twitter?

Go tweet around and explore what Twitter has to offer. Find me on Twitter @gbrandtj.

Leave a Reply

